NJSCA Awards

NJSCA Hall of Fame

Congratulations to the following people, who were inducted into the New Jersey State Coaches Association Hall of Fame at a ceremony at the Pines Manor in Edison, NJ on January 14, 2024. 

NJSCA HOF 2024.pdf (njsiaa.org)

  • Jeff Capone, Hunterdon Central HS / Delaware Valley HS / Voorhees HS
  • Jason Carcich, Wayne Valley HS
  • Thomas Connerton, Donovan Catholic HS
  • Donald Covin, Long Branch HS
  • Maria DiCondina, Paramus Catholic HS / Glen Ridge HS
  • George Glover, Westwood Regional HS
  • Sandy Gordon, Ramapo HS
  • Dr. Carl Lange, Collingswood HS
  • Dr. Stan Liptzin, Lakewood HS
  • Anthony Melesurgo, Bound Brook HS
  • Barnes Reid, Irvington HS
  • Mergin Sina, Gill St. Bernards School
  • Bill Soranno, Union HS
  • Clinton Tabb III, Pennsauken HS
  • Karl Torchia, Christian Brothers Academy / Middletown South HS
  • Matthew Varhley, Westfield HS
  • Joe Whalen, Long Branch HS / Saint Rose HS
  • Benjie Wimberly, Eastside High School (Paterson) / Paterson Catholic / Hackensack High School
  • Raymond Zorovich*, Academy o/t Holy Angels / Paramus Catholic HS / Immaculate Heart Academy

     *Posthumous award

HOF Inductees from the Past 5 Years

Coach of the Year Honorees

The National Federation of High Schools (NFHS), in conjunction with the New Jersey Scholastic Coach's Association (NJSCA) also recognizes coaches for the promotion of their sport at the state, sectional and national levels. Congratulations to the 2022-2023 Coach of the Year recipients, who were recognized on January 14, 2024. 

2022-2023 State Coach of the Year Honorees 

  • Roman Ammirato, St. Augustine Prep School - Ice Hockey
  • Kathy Bradley, Holmdel HS - Girls Golf
  • Kelly Carr, Point Pleasant Borough HS - Field Hockey
  • Byron Collins, Gill St. Bernard's School - Boys Lacrosse
  • Jerry Duffey, Chatham HS - Girls Fencing
  • Brian Dunn, Old Tappan HS - Football
  • Jeffrey Fisher, Robbinsville HS - Boys Soccer
  • Andy Fitz, Delaware Valley Regional HS - Boys Wrestling
  • Jessica Gadaleta, Saint John Vianney HS - Boys Volleyball
  • Tom Hengel, Clearview Regional HS - Girls Cross Country
  • Mark Jamieson, Egg Harbor Twp HS - Boys Swimming & Diving
  • James Maher, Lawrence HS - Baseball
  • Daniel Montferrat, Ewing HS - Girls Basketball
  • Mike Penta, Elizabeth HS - Girls Track & Field
  • Kenneth Rossi, West Morris Central HS - Girls Soccer
  • Nicholas Scalzo, Marlboro HS - Softball
  • Neal Sharma, Summit HS - Boys Cross Country
  • Matthew Stefanski, Wall Township HS - Boys Golf
  • Clinton Tabb III, Pennsauken HS - Boys Track & Field
  • Jonathan Thai, Verona HS - Girls Tennis
  • Rusty Thomsen, Saint Joseph Metuchen HS - Boys Bowling
  • Beverly Torok, Westfield HS - Girls Volleyball
  • Stephen Tucker, Our Lady of Mercy Academy - Girls Swimming & Diving
  • Jeff Tukel, West Morris Mendham HS - Boys Tennis
  • Marquis Webb, Eastside HS - Boys Basketball
  • Emily Wescott, Kingsway Regional HS - Girls Lacrosse

Past COY Recipients